REVIEWS

Belltown Radley -  February 2020                                                                            

As a Jiu Jitsu brown belt in 2014, I had the opportunity to train with Professor Nick at his Paros Greece Academy. Professor Nick has a deep understanding of Jiu Jitsu, and his passion shows in his students. Not only are Professor Nick's techniques top notch, his teaching and breakdown of techniques are clear and precise. Everyone I met at the academy were friendly and extremely welcoming as well. If I have the opportunity to visit Europe again, I would definitely make plans to visit Nick BJJ in Cyprus!

If you're in the Cyprus area and have considered training BJJ, go visit Nick BJJ - You won't be disappointed!

*****

 

Ilja Uljanov -  November 2019                                                                            

I am brown belt under Nas Alganga from Grand Union Jiu Jitsu. This September I was in Protaras, Cyprus. And of course as regular BJJ guy looked for some place to train. I went to Paralimni (20-30 min by public transport for 2 euro only). I visited NickBJJ club. It is quite small club with amazing people in it. We did no gi training. Good solid fundamental techniques during drills and good nice sparring after. Would I recommend this place? Of course yes. Would I visit this place again? Definitely, yes.

*****

 

Vanessa Clemenz - September 2019                                                                            

Zwar ist das Gym beim ersten Mal etwas schwierig zu finden, umso einladender war jedoch die gesamte Crew. Wir haben uns sehr willkommen gefühlt und das Training war professionell und abwechslungsreich und die gezeigten Techniken waren gut in ein Gesamtkonzept eingebunden. Die Jungs und Mädels schienen sich sehr über neue Herausforderer beim anschließenden Grappling zu freuen ;)

*****

 

Aris Tsangarides - September 2019                                                                            

I was in Cyprus on holiday and was looking for a Carlson Gracie school on the island. Luckily I found Professor Nick (3rd degree Carlson Gracie black belt) just 15 min away from where I was staying. The guy has a fun, positive, energetic aura but is serious about his craft and how people train during his class. A lot of focus on practicing with the right intent, that is to say, the focus is on deliberately practicing the details of the technique rather than just getting a lot of reps in with total disregard for quality of movement. He colors the session with stories from the past which contextualize the technique we learn. It’s a great buildup, from the warm-up drills to the isolated techniques to integrating the technique with positional transitions. And the kind of warm hospitality I’ve experienced here is one that one only finds in a Carlson Gracie school. Highly Recommend. Oss!

*****

 

SuperGravers - September 2019                                                                            

Trained there while on holiday! Wish I’d gotten more than one session in! Great atmosphere, clear instruction and Nick helps correct any mistakes before they become bad habits!

On top of that everyone is super friendly and patient! Can’t recommend them enough :)

*****

 

Niklas Sellgren - August 2019                                                                            

Great hospitality and everyone is very welcoming, super detailed techniques but also easy for a person to implement! Will come here again if I visit cyprus once more or so!
Go roll with them!

*****

 

Adam Angelides - August 2019                                                                            

We visit Cyprus every year and lucky for us we recently discovered Nick's school this year. We have been twice (1 open mat and 1 class) and we love this place. Nick is an amazing instructor and person. They made us feel very welcome and valued. The gym has a great little family vibe but with big experience to back it. Nick is a very warm hearted professor who clearly loves bjj, but he also cares about his club members. No BS, no stupid BJJ politics....just good old bjj that works!
We are coming back every week whilst on holiday and hopefully every year :)
What a great find and a real little gem!

*****

 

Ben Felfeli - July 2019                                                                            

Visited Protaras for holiday and didn’t want to fall behind from the others in my group back in London CFS north 12. Googled BJJ In Cyprus and came across NickBjj ( Nick Unander). Went to an afternoon class and plan on going to a few more while I’m out here. I definitely learned some neat moves in the class and everyone was amazing and very welcoming. Loved it and looking forward to the next session!!! Osss!!

*****

 

Espen Halleby - July 2019                                                                            

Went to train with Nick while on holiday in Cyprus. Nick and his crew are very friendly and welcoming, I learned some cool techniques, and even got to roll abit with Nick himself which was great fun. OSS!

*****

 

Christoph S. - June 2019                                                                            

Tolles Team, bei der nächsten Zypern Reise aufjedenfall wieder!

*****

 

Stefan Bohn - June 2019                                                                            

I joined for an Open mat and had a great time. Everybody was super friendly. Nick is an awesome Coach and I had a blast rolling with him. If I visit Cyprus again I will definitely join you for another rolling session.

*****

 

Jose Altamirano - June 2019                                                                            

Went to visit Nick and his team over the day to train. The hospitality is a full 10/10. So many smiles, laughters and technical breakdowns. I am very happy to have visited such a technical and happy team. I highly recommend this place and Nick is awesome carrying the Carlson Sr legacy on. F. Y. I they are pressure players. Ouch!

*****

 

Jakub Lejwoda - April 2019                                                                            

Great place to train if you visit Cyprus and train BJJ! Hope to be back someday. Thanks Nick for great training.

*****

 

Christian Andersen - April 2019                                                                            

Spent 2 days at the gym - read all the other reviews - hospitality, high level teaching and a main reason to go back to the island 🌴 Thank you Nick. Oss

*****

 

Marino - February 2019                                                                            

Great fun and very friendly bunch! I've just started and cant wait to be a pro, it conditions my mind, body and soul. i'm so glad I found BJJ even if i don't get the moves sometimes.

*****

 

Yury Butov - November 2018                                                                            

Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Great people. Had lot of pleasure being there. Highly recommend!

*****

 

Niklas Österlund- November 2018                                                                    

Found this place when googling for BJJ during my vacation on Cyprus - very welcoming and friendly! Me and my wife had a great training session and we learned a lot - hope to come back in the future!!!

*****

 

Stefan Fredriksson- October 2018                                    

If you are interested in BJJ and visit Cyprus, you should definitely go to this gym. A great coach, and a welcoming atmosphere. Answers emails and messages promptly. Gym is accessible via local bus.

*****

 

Adam Moreton- October 2018                                                                              

Welcoming and a great atmosphere, + the instruction is excellent. Learn from a great black belt that has been round the block with a large repertoire of knowledge, but also one of the kindest you shall meet.

*****

 

Matt Condon- October 2018                                                                                   

Very welcoming and great instruction. I highly recommend you visit Nick to train if you are in the area.

*****

 

Ryan Goddard- October 2018                                                                              

Enjoyed training with nick and his team while on holiday. Good atmosphere and a welcoming group of people

*****

 

Laszlo Bokor- October 2018                                                                                 

First time in my life tried BJJ with Master Nick in Cyprus on 3rd of october 2018 in Cyprus (today). It was really different than my previous experiences like muay thai, kickboxing, and capoeira... It was so cool! i loved it a lot. i learned some basic technics, i could try to use in practise the learned techinc. What i love the most is the way of teaching and the atmospher! immediately you feel like a part of a family even though you are there first time. Everybody is cool and welcoming. and this attitude/mentality carries to the mat. experienced ones will not make u feel embarrased, they help you! and this works there and back. i highly recommend it for everybody to join Nick BJJ/Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Training Club! i promise you that YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT! OSS!!!!!!!!

*****

 

Paulius Zulonas- September 2018                                                                     

Loved it! Very professional and friendly

*****

 

Gerald Gainschnigg- September 2018                                                               

Wurde herzlich empfangen. Training hat Spaß gemacht. Vielen Dank, Nick!!

*****

 

Andy Boult - August 2018                                                                                   

Had a great time training at Nicks gym while I was on holiday. Everyone was really friendly and welcoming. Nicks training philosophy is very technical and structured which is ideal for white belts. For €10 per session it’s well worth it and I’ll definitely be going back! 

*****

 

Alan Mclachlan - August 2018                                                                                   

Had a great time training with Nick Unander and his students. They all make you feel welcome great atmosphere. And the technique shown by Nick is world class he explains all the technique and break's every little detail down for you to understand perfectly.

*****

 

Arran Jordan - July 2018                                                                                   

Really good gym with a warm and welcoming atmosphere as well as some really good coaching.

*****

 

Sulaiman Diment - July 2018                                                                                   

Amazing gym great bunch of guys and an awesome instructor very welcoming and definatley will visit again thank you

*****

 

Abdul Raheem Diment - July 2018                                                                                   

Training with Nick in Paralimni was one of the highlights of my trip to Cyprus. Throughout the session Nick gave me pointers based on positions I came across whilst sparring with him and his students, that have developed my Jiu Jitsu. I am extremely grateful to Nick for letting me come and train with him.I highly recommend Nicks gym to anyone training Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. I can guarantee you’ll be learning from the very best. I look forward to coming back to train with you.

*****

 

Joakim Bakken Kjenner - June 2018                                                                                   

I went to train at the gym during my vacation in Cyprus. Good people, good vibe and I had a great workout. Nick is an old school Black belt with confidence in the techniques he's teaching, two thumbs up!

*****

 

Jacob Williams - June 2018                                                                                   

Awesome Gym, great people & outstanding instructor! Nick Unander provides so much detail when showing you techniques that you will never forget what you are shown. I’ve come on a 2 week holiday and I contacted Nick a few weeks before my holiday to see if I was welcome, he said of course and the atmosphere when I arrived was more than welcoming. Nick is also a great person as unlike many black belts, he will roll with any level of belt. I enjoyed it so much and will certainly be back again. Thank you!

*****

 

Jennifer Norris - May 2018                                                                                   

Nick is the man. Train here. On that Carlson Gracie, Marcelo Alonso style. Train all the time, stay ready! Great philosophy and nice person!!

*****

 

Paul Byron - March 2018                                                                                   

Participated in a open mat session today . Really enjoyed the morning. First time meeting Nick nicest guy you could meet introduced our self and got straight into rolling nice and casual Being a beginner the pace was set at my standard , Everyone was really nice and helpful giving little tips and showing me were I'm going wrong ,which for a beginner I need Defianatley going back and trying out the lessons during the week. Cheers to everyone who made me and Chris feel welcome today . See you guys soon

*****

 

John Murray - March 2018                                                                                   

Visited one of Nick's "open mat" sessions as a guest and was to feel very welcome. A bright and modern gym, with a friendly crowd and some ace instruction thrown in!

*****

 

Nickie Ruddy - March 2018                                                                                   

I've been training under Nick Unander since December 2017 and to say 'lifechanging' would be an understatement! He is a fantastic instructor, his extensive knowledge of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu is evident by his teaching style, and the 3 stripes on his black belt. His recent relocation to the Paralimni area is surely going to encourage more people to come and train BJJ over on the East coast of Cyprus.

*****

 

Evgeny Novoselov - March 2018                                                                                   

Nick was the teacher who opened for me the BJJ universe back in 2016 after more than 20 years of boxing practice. Thank you professor. People do not miss this opportunity and start doing BJJ with Nick Unander. Or if you already started then you will definitely improve your skills with Nick

*****

 

CONTACT NICK

WRITE OR CALL ME IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS
NICKBJJMAN@GMAIL.COM
+357 99175702
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle